RSS

The child in us!

21 Sep

Growing up is inevitable. As we grow we see a new life, meet new people, form new relationships while old relationships change. Our circle of life expands to include people who we sometimes conciously and sometimes unconciously select to take with us in our journey.

As grown ups we don’t jump in joy over a water bubble, as grown ups we don’t trail behind the toy train, as grown ups we don’t hit and get hit back by the Hit-me that’s double our size, as grown ups we don’t dance around the clapping joker.

 

While we add more and more people to our life we leave behind a very important person who was a part our very being. The one who made us laugh out loud without hesitation, the one who made us climb trees without fear, the one who made us cry without embarrassment. We grow apart from the one who shaped us into what we are today…the child in us.

 

But a chance encounter with this child can bring back so many memories, moist, bitter sweet memories that you never want to let go of that child again. I saw the child in my husband today.  

 

As he selected toys for our 1.5 year old son, I saw the child in him select all the toys that he wanted to buy so many years ago in that old toy store back in his home town. I could see the wonder in his eyes as he gazed with wonder at the dancing elephant, the colourful car, the giant Hit-Me and all the new toys. I could see his need to buy a train set that his dad had bought for him when he was just a child himself, and I could still see that joy on his face when he told me all about how the penguins ran up and down the tracks on a Penguin Race game.

 

I know he wants to give all that his dad gave him and much much more. I know he will be the best dad any child could ever have because I know he is still in touch with the child within.

 

tu479

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2009 in Daily Life, Family, Love

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “The child in us!

  1. magesh

    September 22, 2009 at 5:24 am

    yeah.. its true that we get a chance to turn into a child again thru our children…
    nice writing
    and your kid looks so sweet in those pics 🙂

     
    • Priyadarshani Sharma

      September 22, 2009 at 8:02 am

      Thank you 🙂

       
  2. Darren H

    November 19, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Well written, I like seeing someone promoting the value of fathers.

    Makes me remember my Dad (whom I lost 2 years ago and miss more than I EVER thought I would).

    All too often we (myself included) don’t cherish our parents until they’re gone. Miss you Dad.

     
    • Priyadarshani Sharma

      April 16, 2010 at 8:47 am

      @darren I agree…I just hope we can give our children what we got from our parents.

      @abhijit These pictures r nothing like ur’s but are more precious to me than any other 🙂

       
  3. abhijt dharmadhikari

    April 16, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Black and white has its own charm! 🙂
    Nice images and the write-up!

     

Leave a Reply

 
