RSS

I want to ask God!

14 Jul

I live in Mumbai and have been subject to continous rainfall since last evening…sometimes light, most of the time very heavy. Most things have come to a stop including some schools, traffic, etc. However, one thing that the even the pouring rainfall could not dampen was people’s devotion to God.

 

This morning, as I was on my way back from my son’s play school (which turned out to be closed today), I was amazed at the sight of a looooooooong serpentine queue outside a temple, extending way out of the shaded area, extending at someplaces into the traffic. People were standing in raincoats, with umrellas, but still standing, devoutly, patiently, waiting for their turn. It made me wonder, what could inspire such devotion in people? People were queued up to thank God, to priase God, to complain, to ask for forgiveness, to ask favours…their reasons can vary but the devotion was unmistakable.

 

I was jolted out of my revier by a sudden tug on my sleeve. “Madame 5 rupay do na…nahi nahi madame mujhe 2 chalega…isko mat dena, mujhe dona” I found myself face to face with two tiny kids, about a couple of years older than my own son, drenched to their skin, each trying to outdo the other in their earnestness. I was suddenly swept with a fierce rage. Then right on heels came another emotion, I felt sad. I was confused. I was angry with God, who chose to give this life to these children, and I was sad coz ife had dealt them such a foul hand.

 

I thought to myself that if God cannot see this from above, then I don’t see the point of queuing up outside temples. Some people say, God has his own way, but I want to now what could he be thinking when he granted such a life to so many millions of children across the world. I really want to know.

streetkids

http://www.godlivesinthehimalayas.com/

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2009 in Daily Life, Mumbai, People

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “I want to ask God!

  1. Störungsquelle

    July 14, 2009 at 11:07 am

    There are always some questions to God which we would like to ask.

     
    • priyadarshanisharma

      July 14, 2009 at 11:44 am

      Agreed. Most of the times we keep these questions to ourselves and rarely take the trouble to pursue him for answers.

       
  2. Arpita Chakraborty

    July 17, 2009 at 8:29 am

    I just got it from a friend…
    I guess you’ll have some clue from this story

    This is one of the best explanations of why God allows pain and suffering that I have seen…

    A man went to a barbershop to have his hair cut and his beard trimmed.
    As the barber began to work, they began to have a good conversation.
    They talked about so many things and various subjects.
    When they eventually touched on the subject of God, the barber said:
    “I don’t believe that God exists.”

    “Why do you say that?” asked the customer. “Well, you just have to go out in the street to realize that God doesn’t exist.
    Tell me, if God exists, would there be so many sick people?
    Would there be abandoned children?

    If God existed, there would be neither suffering nor pain.
    I can’t imagine a loving God who would allow all of these things.”
    The customer thought for a moment, but didn’t respond because he didn’t want to start an argument.
    The barber finished his job and the customer left the shop.

    Just after he left the barbershop, he saw a man in the street with long, stringy, dirty hair and an untrimmed beard.
    He looked dirty and unkempt. The customer turned back and entered the barber shop again and he said to the barber:
    “You know what? Barbers do not exist.”
    “How can you say that?” asked the surprised barber.
    “I am here, and I am a barber. And I just worked on you!”
    “No!” the customer exclaimed. “Barbers don’t exist because
    if they did, there would be no people with dirty long hair and untrimmed beards, like that man outside.”

    “Ah, but barbers DO exist! That’s what happens when people do not come to me.”
    “Exactly!” affirmed the customer. “That’s the point! God, too, DOES exist!
    That’s what happens when people do not go to Him and don’t look to Him for help.
    That’s why there’s so much pain and suffering in the world

     

Leave a Reply

 
